Chitown RC  

 

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
  (#1)
Thirdgen89GTA Offline
Wasted Wages....
Thirdgen89GTA has a spectacular aura aboutThirdgen89GTA has a spectacular aura about
 
Thirdgen89GTA's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,580
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
AC Powered starter box? - 03-03-2008, 02:10 PM

Well, I remember reading a question about this earlier, then I remembered what could be used for a power supply. You'd need something to convert your AC power to 12 DC current.

Well, what do we have EVERYWHERE for cheap? But Computer ATX power supplies! I'd have to look at what the 12v DC rail supplies in terms of amperage but I suspect you could find a ATX power supply that would work to power a starter box 12v dc motor.

Just a thought, one that could be mighty useful for those long practice days at LHR.

Or you could find a AC motor that fits in the starter box and can be attached to a flywheel and then just run it straight of AC power.
  Send a message via AIM to Thirdgen89GTA  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#2)
J-Dub Offline
Senior Member
J-Dub will become famous soon enoughJ-Dub will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 1,618
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seneca, IL
03-03-2008, 03:45 PM

I think im going to try and build one using an old CPU supply. Lol


LSP lots of Khz, Werks .28 8 port.

Revo 2.5, TRX 3.3 Engine, Center Diff. Fast and Turns on a dime.
  Send a message via AIM to J-Dub Send a message via MSN to J-Dub  
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links
Old
  (#3)
thenewguy821 Offline
Well, not THAT new...
thenewguy821 is a glorious beacon of lightthenewguy821 is a glorious beacon of lightthenewguy821 is a glorious beacon of lightthenewguy821 is a glorious beacon of lightthenewguy821 is a glorious beacon of lightthenewguy821 is a glorious beacon of light
 
thenewguy821's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,379
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oak Lawn
03-03-2008, 04:27 PM

Here's the help you need....

Make a 12v DC power supply from Computer power supply


I'll keep my God, my freedom, my guns, and my money. You can keep "THE CHANGE."
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#4)
slaytanic Offline
Senior Member
slaytanic will become famous soon enoughslaytanic will become famous soon enough
 
slaytanic's Avatar
 
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2007
03-03-2008, 04:48 PM

Ive seen peolple do this to power a charger. Don't you need at least 10 amps to do that though? It looks like most power supplies have 4 to 7 amps for pc's I have a sweet 500watt modular power supply that I got for free. Very expensive when new. It's one that you only plug in the leads you need so you don't have a mass of wires in your case. Model was Matrix I believe. Can't remember who made it. Never even opened the box. But have used them before and they are very good.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#5)
slaytanic Offline
Senior Member
slaytanic will become famous soon enoughslaytanic will become famous soon enough
 
slaytanic's Avatar
 
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2007
03-03-2008, 04:52 PM

Found it! It's the Antec Neo. Specs say 18.0A on the 12v rail and 20a on the 5v rail. Think this would do?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#6)
cheesecake Offline
Senior Member
cheesecake will become famous soon enough
 
cheesecake's Avatar
 
Posts: 913
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Elgin
03-03-2008, 05:06 PM

i think the motor would require alot of amps to be run i can see if i can get my hands on a ac motor since my mom works for a company that makes ac motors


Casterracingusa.com TrueRC.com Fusionracingrc.com (Fusion Fluids) Nitrotoyz.comThercshack.comFastlan e-graphix.com
  Send a message via AIM to cheesecake  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#7)
slaytanic Offline
Senior Member
slaytanic will become famous soon enoughslaytanic will become famous soon enough
 
slaytanic's Avatar
 
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2007
03-03-2008, 06:36 PM

I don't know amps much but I run my box on 2 3600 mah batteries. Wouldn't that be only like 7.2 amps?
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#8)
J-Dub Offline
Senior Member
J-Dub will become famous soon enoughJ-Dub will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 1,618
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seneca, IL
03-03-2008, 06:41 PM

There's gotta be something out there that can put out like 20 AMPS DC, or perhaps a transformer or something to bring it up to like 20 amps or something...There's gotta be a way...Im sick of batterys, I wanna plug in lol

It looks like there are power-supplys that will put out up to 25A @ 13.8vDC but its like kinda bulky...doesnt seem lucrative.

Maybe I'll pull a bobbo and just use a car battery.


LSP lots of Khz, Werks .28 8 port.

Revo 2.5, TRX 3.3 Engine, Center Diff. Fast and Turns on a dime.

Last edited by J-Dub; 03-03-2008 at 06:56 PM..
  Send a message via AIM to J-Dub Send a message via MSN to J-Dub  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#9)
Thirdgen89GTA Offline
Wasted Wages....
Thirdgen89GTA has a spectacular aura aboutThirdgen89GTA has a spectacular aura about
 
Thirdgen89GTA's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,580
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Buffalo Grove, IL
03-03-2008, 07:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by J-Dub View Post
There's gotta be something out there that can put out like 20 AMPS DC, or perhaps a transformer or something to bring it up to like 20 amps or something...There's gotta be a way...Im sick of batterys, I wanna plug in lol

It looks like there are power-supplys that will put out up to 25A @ 13.8vDC but its like kinda bulky...doesnt seem lucrative.

Maybe I'll pull a bobbo and just use a car battery.
yeah no problems with a car battery, that's about 600,000mah minimum @ 12v.
  Send a message via AIM to Thirdgen89GTA  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#10)
Ponch Offline
TITTY-SPRINKLES!
Ponch is a name known to allPonch is a name known to allPonch is a name known to allPonch is a name known to allPonch is a name known to allPonch is a name known to all
 
Ponch's Avatar
 
Posts: 10,563
Join Date: May 2005
Location: J-town
03-03-2008, 07:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by slaytanic View Post
I don't know amps much but I run my box on 2 3600 mah batteries. Wouldn't that be only like 7.2 amps?

No, that's 7.2 volts per pack, or 14.4 volts total. Most assembled stick packs don't rate amps.


Man... I'd love to B a L on her T's!!!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#11)
thenewguy821 Offline
Well, not THAT new...
thenewguy821 is a glorious beacon of lightthenewguy821 is a glorious beacon of lightthenewguy821 is a glorious beacon of lightthenewguy821 is a glorious beacon of lightthenewguy821 is a glorious beacon of lightthenewguy821 is a glorious beacon of light
 
thenewguy821's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,379
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Oak Lawn
03-03-2008, 07:50 PM

Ponch, The Mah on a Battery pack is the Miliamps. 1000 Mah is equal to 1 amp per hour. If a 3600 Mah battery lasts for 1 hour continuous, the relative draw is 3.6 amps. If you have 2- 3600 Mah stick packs, in series, the voltage increases to 14.4 volts, but the Mah stays 3600 Mah. If wired parallel, you would only have 7.2 volts, but 7200 Mah.


For the short amount of "Spin time" that a Starter box needs, you shouldn't need too many amps. If a starter box needed 18 amps, it would drain 3000 Mah stick packs almost instantly. The computer power supplies should be very capable of running a starter box for the short momentary bursts required to start an engine.


I'll keep my God, my freedom, my guns, and my money. You can keep "THE CHANGE."
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#12)
slaytanic Offline
Senior Member
slaytanic will become famous soon enoughslaytanic will become famous soon enough
 
slaytanic's Avatar
 
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2007
03-03-2008, 08:32 PM

I know they sell power supplies for mini pc's. I used to be into that stuff big time. Building custom gaming rigs and all that. They would definitely have one small enough for a starter box. The more I think about it, it really shouldn't be too hard. PS's have a 12v rail and a 5v rail for fans and such. Gonna have to study a bit. Don't really need a plug in box but I love a challenge. Who's gonna do it first! If you think about it, it's really not practical but hey you never know!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#13)
slaytanic Offline
Senior Member
slaytanic will become famous soon enoughslaytanic will become famous soon enough
 
slaytanic's Avatar
 
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2007
03-03-2008, 08:35 PM

Newegg.com - APEX AL-B200SFX ATX12V MICRO ATX 200W Power Supply Select 90-132VAC or 180-264VAC UL, CSA, TUV, NEMKO, DEMKO, SEMKO, FI, CE - OEM

Here's the ticket! Now to figure out how to mod it. I have like 20 electrical engineers at work I'm gonna hit up for info.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#14)
slaytanic Offline
Senior Member
slaytanic will become famous soon enoughslaytanic will become famous soon enough
 
slaytanic's Avatar
 
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2007
03-03-2008, 08:48 PM

How to Convert a Computer ATX Power Supply to a Lab Power Supply - wikiHow

Nice how too. You can set it up to put any voltage you want! 5,7,12,17,20.

Wonder if a box could handle 17? I would think so since people run to 8.4 packs in them some times.
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#15)
slaytanic Offline
Senior Member
slaytanic will become famous soon enoughslaytanic will become famous soon enough
 
slaytanic's Avatar
 
Posts: 591
Join Date: Jan 2007
03-03-2008, 09:00 PM

This is the ticket right here!



Nuff said. I'm doing this!
   
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#16)
J-Dub Offline
Senior Member
J-Dub will become famous soon enoughJ-Dub will become famous soon enough
 
Posts: 1,618
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Seneca, IL
03-04-2008, 01:10 AM

Amperage Draw would depend on the load placed on the Box...if you're breaking in a new engine it'd probably draw higher than a broke in one. Im honestly going to look into this. I'd say 10 AMPS is enough power...maybe try to hit it with like 14 volts for extra power.


LSP lots of Khz, Werks .28 8 port.

Revo 2.5, TRX 3.3 Engine, Center Diff. Fast and Turns on a dime.
  Send a message via AIM to J-Dub Send a message via MSN to J-Dub  
Reply With Quote
Old
  (#17)
owlsarepretty101 Offline
Junior Member
owlsarepretty101 is on a distinguished road
 
Posts: 10
Join Date: Apr 2017
04-21-2017, 01:10 AM

Hello! I really liked your story. Thank you!
www mygiftcardsite com card balance

Last edited by owlsarepretty101; Yesterday at 07:30 PM..
   
Reply With Quote
Reply




Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mugen Pro Starter Box BII 1/8 Off Road Starter Box Assembly rcrunr1 Engine / Drivetrain 6 08-29-2007 12:53 PM
Starter Box FreeRideFrosty Buy / Sell / Trade 54 03-01-2007 12:14 PM
Native Racing Starter Box Bump Box Revo $65 (SOLD) willjeffw Buy / Sell / Trade 2 07-28-2006 07:03 AM
Good starter box? Mnster Racers Forum 18 12-27-2005 11:26 AM
Looking to trade my 1/10th starter box for 1/8th scale starter box....(SOLD) Ponch Buy / Sell / Trade 27 11-13-2005 01:26 AM



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
vBulletin Skin developed by: vBStyles.com
Copyright 2004 - 2014, Chitown R/C - Chicago's #1 Source for RC Car and Truck Info